India’s National Parks 2024 GK| List of National Parks of India 2024| Important Facts about National Parks of India| Powerful Static GK

National Parks of India

Explore the beauty of National parks of India, learn fascinating facts about wildlife, and enhance your GK knowledge. Get the latest information on national parks of India. Engaging and informative!

National Parks are protected areas established by the government (State and Central Government) for the conservation and protection of natural resources such as forests, wildlife, flora and fauna. Its main Objective is to Protect the natural environment of an area and ensure the conservation of biodiversity. National parks have an important role in the conservation of wildlife. National parks are strictly protected with the aim of improving wildlife and biodiversity.

  • As of May 2024, India’s National Parks covers a total area of 44,378 sq km and account for about 1.35% of India’s total surface area.
  • India’s First national park is Hailey National Park (1936), which was renamed as Jim Corbett National Park in 1970.
  • The largest national park in India is Hemis National Park (Ladakh). It is globally famous for its snow leopards.
  • The Smallest national park in India is South Button Island National Park (Andaman Nicobar).
  • Sariska National Park (Rajasthan) and Ranthambore National Park (Rajasthan) are safe places for tiger.
  • The ‘Babbar Lion (Asiatic Lion)‘ is found in the Gir National Park.
  • Madhya Pradesh has the highest number of 11 national parks in India.
  • The Royal Bengal Tiger is found in the Sundarbans National Park.
  • India’s only floating national park is keibul Lamjao National Park (Manipur).
  • The Sangai deer’ is found in Keibul Lamjao National Park (Manipur).
  • India’s first Marine National park is located in Rann of Kutch, Gujarat.
  • India’s first Golden Tiger was spotted in Kaziranga National Park.
  • Punjab is the only Indian state which has no national park
  • Eight cheetahs from Namibia have been brought to Kuno National Park in India by special aircraft.
  • National parks in India are International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) Category II Protected Areas.
  • India enacted its Wildlife Protection Act 1972 and Project Tiger in 1973 to protect the habitats of species dependent on conservation.
  • The latest national park in India are ‘Dihing Patkai National Park (Assam)‘ and ‘Raimona National Park (Assam)’ established in 2021.
  • Dachigam National Park (jammu and Kashmir) has been established for the conservation of the hangul or Kashmiri deer.
  • Balpakkam National Park (Meghalaya) has tropical vegetation which is an ideal habitat for various species of elephants, deer and other animals.
StatesNational ParksEstablishment year
Kerala (6)  Periyar National Park1950
Eravikulam National Park1978
Silent Valley National Park1985
Anamudi Shola National Park2003
Pambadum Shola National Park2003
Mathikettan Shola National Park2008
Jammu & Kashmir (4)Dachigam National Park1981
Kishtwar National Park1981
City Forest (Salim Ali) National Park1986
Kazinag National Park1992
Karnataka (5)Bandipur National Park1974
Bannerghatta National Park1974
Anshi National Park1987
Kudremukh National Park1987
Nagarhole National Park1988
Meghalaya (2)Nokrek National Park1986
Balphakram National Park1987
Madhya Pradesh (11)Kanha National Park1955
Madhav National Park1958
Bandhavgarh National Park1968
Pench National Park1975
Van Vihar National Park1979
Satpura National Park1981
Panna National Park1981
Kuno National ParkEst.1981 (National park -2018)
Ghughwa Fossile National Park1983
Sanjay National Park1983
Dinosaur Fossil National Park
Jharkhand (1)Betla National Park1974
Odisha (2)Bhitarkanika National Park1975
Simlipal National Park1980
Tripura (2)Bison (Rajbari) National Park2007
Clouded Leopard National Park2007
Gujarat (4)Gir Forest National Park1965
Blackbuck National Park, Velavadar1976
Vansda National Park1979
Marine National Park, Gulf of Kutch1982
West Bengal (6)Gorumara National Park1949
Buxa Tiger Reserve1983
Sundarbans National Park1984
Singalila National Park1986
Neora Valley National Park1986
Jaldapara National Park2012
Andaman and  Nicobar Islands (9)Galathea National Park1922
Middle Button Island National Park1979
Mount Harriet National Park1979
Saddle Peak National Park1979
North Button Island National Park1979
Mahatma Gandhi Marine National Park1983
South Button Island National Park1987
Campbell Bay National Park1992
Rani Jhansi Marine National Park1996
Maharashtra (6)Tadoba National Park1955
Gugamal National Park1974
Navegaon National Park1975
Pench National Park1975
Sanjay Gandhi National Park1996
Chandoli National Park2004
Rajasthan (5)Sariska National Park1979
Ranthambore National Park1980
Desert National Park1981
Keoladeo National Park1982
Mukundra Hills National Park2004
Assam (7)Assam Kaziranga National ParkEst. in 1905 National Park-1974
Orang National Park1985
Manas National Park1990
Nameri National Park1998
Dibru-Saikhowa National Park1999
Dehing Patkai National Park2004
Raimona National Park2021
Uttar Pradesh (1)Dudhwa National Park1977
Uttarakhand (6)Jim Corbett National Park1936
Govind Pashu Vihar National Park1955
Nanda Devi National Park1982
Valley of Flowers National Park1982
Rajaji National Park1983
Gangotri National Park1989
Himachal Pradesh (5)Great Himalayan National Park1984
Pin Valley National Park1987
Simbalbara National Park2010
Khirganga National Park2010
Inderkilla National Park2010
Tamil Nadu (5)Mudumalai National Park1940
Indira Gandhi Sanctuary and National Park1976
Guindy National Park1977
Gulf of Mannar Marine National Park1986
Mukurthi National Park2001
Chhattisgarh (3)Indravati National Park1975
Kanger Ghati National Park1982
Guru Ghasidas National Park1983
Ladakh (1)Hemis National Park1981
Andhra Pradesh(3)Papikonda National Park1978
Sri Venkateswara National Park1989
Rajiv Gandhi National Park (Rameswaram)2005
Arunachal Pradesh (2)Namdapha National Park1974
Mouling National Park1982
Haryana(2)Sultanpur National Park1959
Kalesar National Park2003
Telangana (3)Mahavir Harina Vanasthali National Park1975
Mrugavani National Park1994
Kasu Brahmananda Reddy National Park1994
Manipur (2)Keibul Lamjao National Park1977
Sirohi National Park1982
Sikkim (1)Khangchendzonga National Park1977
Goa (1)Mollem National Park1978
Mizoram (2)Murlen  National Park1991
Phawngpui Blue Mountain National Park1992
Nagaland (1)Ntangki National Park1993
Bihar (1)Valmiki National Park1978

Leave a comment

Follow by Email