Indian Organizations| National Organizations and their headquarters| Indian Organizations and their objectives| Powerful GK| Current Affairs 2024

Indian Organizations and their objectives

Discover the headquarters and objectives of major Indian organizations, in this informative blog. Increase your GK and stay updated with current affairs 2024.

The Reserve Bank of India (RBI) is the central bank of India whose primary function is to manage and govern the financial system of the country. It is a statutory body established in the year 1935 under the Reserve Bank of India Act, 1934. The central bank regulates the issue and supply of the Indian rupee. It also looks after the central government’s money. The central bank plays the role of the bankers’ bank and regulates the banking sector. It also plays an important role in India’s development story by supporting the government in its developmental projects and policies.

The head office of the RBI, in Kolkata when the bank was established, was shifted to Mumbai in 1937. Originally, the bank was privately owned. However, after Independence, it was nationalised in 1949 and is now fully owned by the Government of India.

Current Governor of RBI is Shaktikanta Das.

The Securities and Exchange Board of India (SEBI) is a key regulator of the securities markets in India. Established as a statutory body by the Indian government on April 12, 1992, SEBI’s primary goal is to enhance market transparency. Headquarter of SEBI is in Mumbai, SEBI also has regional offices in Kolkata, New Delhi, Ahmedabad, and Chennai.

Ministry : Ministry of Finance, Type: Regulatory Body, First chairman : G. V. Ramakrishna, Current chairman: Madhabi Puri Buch

SEBI’s main role is to regulate, monitor, and manage the functioning of the Indian capital market. Its primary aim is to protect investors’ interests and foster a safe investment environment through the implementation of rules and regulations. Moreover, SEBI formulates investment-related guidelines to improve the investment scenario in India.

The Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO), founded by Dr. Vikram Ambalal Sarabhai in 1969, (Headquarter: Bangalore) is India’s space agency dedicated to developing an indigenous space program. As one of the six largest space agencies globally, ISRO operates an extensive fleet of remote sensing (IRS) and communication (INSAT) satellites. These satellites serve the nation’s needs through a network of centers, offices, and research institutes across India.

ISRO functions as the primary research and development branch of the Department of Space (DoS).

The areas of operation of ISRO include broadcasting, weather forecasting, disaster management, geographic information systems, navigation, cartography, telemedicine, and distance education. The noteworthy achievements of ISRO include Mars Orbiter Mission (Mangalyaan), Chandrayaan Missions, PSLV and GSLV Launch Vehicles.

Current chief of ISRO- Sreedhara Panicker Somanath

Some upcoming missions of ISRO are:

Nasa-Isro Synthetic Aperture Radar (Nisar)

This joint initiative between NASA and ISRO focuses on leveraging sophisticated radar imaging technology to monitor and assess worldwide environmental shifts, encompassing natural calamities and ecosystem alterations.


is a thermal infrared imaging satellite project by the ISRO. Scheduled for launch, Trishna aims to study and monitor the Earth’s surface temperature with high precision. It will provide valuable data for scientific research, resource management, and disaster monitoring, contributing to a better understanding of Earth’s dynamic climate systems.


The Gaganyaan mission scheduled for 2025 represents a historic milestone as it will mark India’s inaugural crewed spaceflight, carrying Indian astronauts into space for the first time. Also, for this Vyommitra, a humanoid robot developed by the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO). It is set to play a pivotal role in the Gaganyaan mission.


It is an orbiter mission for study of the atmosphere of Venus. Conduct extensive scientific observations.

The Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) stands as the primary research and development entity of the Indian government, with its headquarters located in New Delhi. Formed in 1958 through the amalgamation of the Technical Development Establishment (TDEs) of the Indian Army, the Directorate of Technical Development & Production (DTDP), and the Defence Science Organisation (DSO), DRDO holds the responsibility for advancing defence technologies and weapon systems for the Indian armed forces. Additionally, it actively fosters indigenous defence manufacturing and supports exports in the sector.

DRDO has played a primary role in advancing various defense technologies and systems, encompassing missiles, aircraft, combat vehicles, radars, electronic warfare systems and naval systems.

DRDO serves as the research and development division of the Ministry of Defence, Government of India.

Current Chairman DRDO- Samir V Kamat

Recent developments:

On 11 March 2024, Narendra Modi, the Prime Minister celebrated the successful completion of Mission Divyastra, marking the inaugural flight test of the Agni-V missile equipped with Multiple Independently Targetable Re-entry Vehicle (MIRV) technology, which was developed in-house.

On May 1, 2024, the DRDO effectively conducted a trial of the advanced Supersonic Missile-Assisted Release of Torpedo (SMART) system from Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam Island, situated off the Odisha coast.

The National Bank for Agriculture and Rural Development (NABARD) is India’s leading development financial institution, dedicated to offering financial and technical support to the agricultural and rural sectors. Founded on July 12, 1982, NABARD aims to foster sustainable and equitable development in these areas. The headquarter of NABARD is Mumbai and the current chairman of it is Mr. Shaji K. V.

The first chairman: B. Sivaraman. The Associated Ministry is Ministry of Finance.

The main objectives of NABARD:

Promotion of Agriculture and Rural Development, Facilitating Credit for Agriculture, Promoting Rural Infrastructure Development, Promoting Sustainable Agriculture, Institutional Development, Financial Inclusion and Rural Innovation which provides funding and support for rural startups, agri-businesses, and rural artisans to encourage economic diversification and employment generation.

NITI Aayog, the National Institution for Transforming India, is a policy think tank of the Indian government, established to succeed the Planning Commission. Established on January 1, 2015, its purpose is to promote cooperative federalism by engaging state governments in economic policy-making through a bottom-up approach.

Key roles of NITI Aayog includes Policy Development, Coordination and Oversight, Promotion of Innovation and Research, Encouragement of Public-Private Partnerships, State Support etc.

Moreover, NITI Aayog focuses on identifying and addressing key challenges facing India, providing a platform for robust debate and consensus-building among stakeholders. It is chaired by the Prime Minister of India and includes a Vice-Chairperson, full-time members, part-time members, and ex-officio members from various ministries.

CEO of NITI AayogShri B.V.R. Subrahmanyam

Also Read:

Leave a comment

Follow by Email